Talk:Arcane Symbols

The official GemStone IV encyclopedia.
Jump to: navigation, search

Incorrect Formula

I am not a mechanic! I don't know what I'm doing here! On 10/15/09 GM Oscuro posted that the above formula (whichever one is posted on Krakiipedia) is not correct. Someone else posted a different formula.

I'm going to have to put the formula posted here into the current format so I can compare and see if they're the same.

Modifiers = (Arcane Symbols Skill bonus) + (Stat Modifier) + (Magical Knowledge Bonus)
          + (INTUITION bonus) + (LOGIC bonus) + (Alignment Bonus) 
          - (Armor Penalty) - (Encumberance Penalty) - (Spell Level × 5) 

I'm going to go ahead and change it I guess. What the heck is an alignment bonus? Becca 16:06, 16 October 2009 (EDT)

Hi Becca! To be perfectly honest, Justin and I were in the process of confirming that old formula (as you can plainly see the ancient date of it's posting) when we got bored and left. Anyways, I imagine it would be nice if someone were to confirm that the new formula is in fact accurate through empirical testing, but you could certainly update the article anyways. We renamed "alignment bonus" to be more specific and is in fact the exact same thing as the "Magical Knowledge Bonus," by the way. Ulthripe talk 18:52, 16 October 2009 (EDT)

Lores from scrolls

Randomly found this tidbit from a NIR: Having just done a quick test for two spells (Fire Spirit (111) and Empathic Assault (1110), and I'm not referencing the DF increase) that came to mind, both grant lore benefits from scrolls. justin talk 19:30, 24 August 2006 (EDT)


I like this form of the table much better:

Character has direct knowledge of the spell to be activated
(regardless of whether or not they can use it yet)
+60
Character can learn spells from the same circle of the spell to be activated +40
Character can learn spells from the same sphere of the spell to be activated +20
Character has no influence in the spell's sphere 0

As to me it's a bit more clear/less cumbersome than seeing that you have to sum the bonuses. Also, what does this mean:"(regardless of whether or not they can use it yet)"? The definiton is whether or not you KNOW the spell, so I'd say that knowing it means you can use it.

Also, I know that this is incorrect for magic items, and am fairly convinced that it's incorrect for scrolls: "Regardless of the attempt's outcome, a charge of the spell is always depleted." As I don't think that in my testing I ever had a scroll poof when I failed to activate it. ALKALOIDS 10:06, 26 June 2006 (EDT)

Smartass! Fine, I'll change the table.
    • "(regardless of whether or not they can use it yet)" means you do not have to be able to cast it, just that you have trained it.
    • "Regardless of the attempt's outcome, a charge of the spell is always depleted." Wasn't sure about this so I put it there for someone to test & and tell me differently.
    • As if anyone ever reads these, can we get a vote on the formula format?
Modifiers =    (Arcane Symbols Skill bonus × 2) + (Stat Modifier)
             + (Magical Knowledge Bonus) + (INTUITION bonus) + (LOGIC bonus)
             - (Spell Level × 10) - (Armor Penalty) - (Encumberance Penalty)

-vs-

Modifiers =    (Arcane Symbols Skill bonus × 2) + (Stat Modifier)
             + (Magical Knowledge Bonus) - (Spell Level × 10)
             - (Armor Penalty) - (Encumberance Penalty)

(with "Stat Modifier" calculation containing LOG+INT+VARIABLE) who is Ulthripe reads this 15:26, 26 June 2006 (EDT)